2014 Superseries homepage





The Superseries is a singles and doubles competition open to all badminton players from Member Associations affiliated to the BWF.

Inaugurated in 2007, the BWF World Superseries is a 12-tournament series where top badminton players compete throughout the year for a place in the season finale, BWF Destination Dubai World Superseries Finals.

The inception of the series adds a new dimension of competitiveness and stardom to the sport which are fundamental cornerstones for any sport to hold an edge in today's globalised sporting climate.

From Shanghai to Copenhagen, players tour the series to earn valuable World Ranking Points towards their BWF World Ranking used in the qualifications for the BWF World Championships and Olympic Games.Hosted from January through to December each year the events are usually hosted in pairs in a similar region of the world – in mid January, the Victor Korean Superseries kicks off the year followed by the Maybank Malaysian Superseries premier.

There is also a separate ranking table for the series - BWF Destination Dubai Rankings - where the top eight men's and women's singles players, top eight men's and women's doubles pairs, and top eight mixed doubles pairs will qualify for the BWF Destination Dubai World Superseries Finals held at the end of each season.

By the end of 2010, it was determined that the series was ready to be taken to a new level of sophistication and thus a two-tier Superseries circuit, where five of the twelve Superseries events were selected as Superseries Premier.

The Superseries Premier events serve up higher ranking points and prize money with the Indonesia Open offering a USD750,000 prize purse followed by China Open USD700,000. 

However, for the BWF Destination Dubai World Superseries Finals, the total prize money is USD1,000,000.00, the highest ever offered in the history of the finals.

Points gathered on the 12-stage MetLife BWF World Superseries will determine the top-eight singles players and doubles pairs in the five traditional categories that will be touching down in Dubai for the BWF Destination Dubai World Superseries Finals in December.


Victor Korea Open (7 - 12 Jan) Indonesia Open  (17 - 22 June)
Maybank Malaysia Open (14-19 Jan) Australia Open (24- 29 June )

Yonex All England Open (4 - 9  March)

Denmark Open (14 - 19 Oct)
Yonex - Sunrise India Open (1 - 6 April) French Open (21 - 26 Oct)
Singapore Open  (8 - 13 April) China Open (11 - 16 Nov)
Yonex Japan Open (10 - 15 June) Hong Kong (18 - 23 Nov)
  BWF Destination Dubai World Superseries Finals (17-21 Dec)