Para-Badminton Athletes Commission

A four person Para-Badminton Athletes’ Commission was established during the Para-Badminton World Championships 2013 in Dortmund, Germany. The 235 players from 36 countries had an opportunity to elect their representatives for a four year term.

The Commission members are:



  • Richard Perot (France)
  • Yau Tiam Ann (Malaysia)
  • Antony Forster (England)
  • Martin Rooke (England)

The role of the Para-Badminton Athletes’ Commission is to:

  • liaise with players, organise players meetings at tournaments and canvas their views and opinions on rules and regulations, development and direction of para-badminton.
  • represent the views of para-badminton athletes at Para-Badminton Commission meetings through its representatives;
  • report back to the players on outcomes of meetings and representations made at the Para-Badminton Commission meetings.

Two representatives from the BWF Para-Badminton Athletes’ Commission sit on the BWF Para-Badminton Commission, one being the Chair of the BWF Para-Badminton Athletes’ Commission. The other is appointed by the BWF Council on the recommendation of the BWF Para-Badminton Commission to ensure diversity of representation – sport class (standing/wheelchair), gender (male/female) or regional representation.

The BWF Para-Badminton Athletes’ Commission is distinct from the BWF Athletes’ Commission (linked here).

The BWF Para-Badminton Commission (linked here) provides expert advice to the BWF on the training, development and competition needs of those participating and competing in para-badminton.