BWF Turns 80

The BWF is 80 years old today.

The International Badminton Federation (now BWF), was founded on 5 July 1934 with nine inaugural members - Canada, Denmark, England, France, Netherlands, Ireland, New Zealand, Scotland and Wales.

The Badminton Association (of England) at the time, invited eight other national badminton associations to a meeting in London to establish an international badminton federation, which would be responsible for the laws and the control of all aspects of the sport world-wide.

The meeting took place at 10.30am on Thursday 5 July 1934 at the Conference Room, Centre Block, Bush House, London and elected Sir George Thomas as the first President if the International Body. Sir George Thomas served as President for 21 years, the longest term of any BWF/IBF President.

 - Shuttling Through 80 Years

 - 75th Anniversary Book

 - History of BWF

 - History of Badminton

« Back

» News archive